Kevin Holt's Charlottesville Real Estate Blog

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It Is Hard to Buy a House if You Don't Have a Job

One of the biggest challenges to a housing recovery is the current rate of unemployment. It is obvious that a person without a job can’t get a mortgage. An additional impact is that many people who are currently employed are afraid to commit to buying a home because of the uncertainty of the job they do have.

It is easy to understand their concern when you read the Bureau of Labor Statistics news release on 2009 unemployment which was released March 3. In the report, it was stated:

All 50 states and the District of Columbia posted statistically significant unemployment rate increases in 2009.

If we look at the unemployment rate by county over the last four years, we see a very unsettling story. Below is a visual depiction of the increase. The darker the area the higher the unemployment rate.

[Read full article...]

What is Today's Luxury Buyer Thinking?

What is Today’s Luxury Buyer Thinking?

From The Keeping Current Matters Blog
by Steve Harney on March 9, 2010

 

Whenever you are selling anything, it helps to have an idea what your customer is thinking. I had the opportunity to attend a session at the Luxury Portfolio Summit in Las Vegas which covered the findings of the Survey of Affluence and Wealth in America 2010 produced by American Express Publishing and the Harrison Group. Below are the highlights of the report which we received in the program for the event.

If you are selling a home in the upper price ranges in your region, you should find the following statistics rather interesting.

How do the wealthy feel?

  • 70% still say their economic security has been affected and one-quarter are worried about losing their job or company.
  • Confidence in political and business leaders remains very low.
  • The savings bubble persists.
  • Desire for “value” and budgeting are mantras, but NOT at the expense of quality.

[Read full article...]

Is the JUMBO Market Loosening Up?

From The Keeping Current Matters Blog

Posted March 8, 2010:

 

There has been an improvement in the interest rates available for Jumbo Mortgages, and that is encouraging news.  In addition, some lenders are even lowering the amount of down payment required in the Jumbo loan programs- which is even more good news.

Let’s begin with some basics.

Jumbo mortgages are those mortgages which exceed the Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac acceptable loan amounts (referred to as conforming loan amounts).  Those thresholds are determined annually on a county-by-county basis based on average sales prices of homes and the number of units in the home.  Where I come from (Long Island, NY) is considered a “high-cost area”, which allows us to close Conforming Loans on a one-family home up to $729,750.  Any mortgage, above that $729,750 limit, is classified as Jumbo.

Now let’s talk a little history.

There was a time in the Mortgage World that we refer to as “B.S.” (Before Subprime).  In that world, there was a .25% to .375% higher interest rate on Jumbo Mortgages.  That additional rate was the result of two factors- risk and supply.

[Read full article...]

Weekend Real Estate Headlines

From The Keeping Current Matters Blog
Posted March 6, 2010

We all know that if you want to keep current on what’s going on in anything, you need to stay on top of what is being published by the people in that field.  That is why every weekend we bring together all the articles (from a myriad of sources) together in order to keep people current on the real estate market.  We’ve also broken down our articles into categories so that you can more easily find specific topics you are looking for!

Below are 27 real estate articles (not including our own) from the past week to help you navigate this complex market.  So grab a seat, scroll down a little bit, and start reading some of the articles that are most appealing to you!  (We’ve even provided you with a reading buddy to keep you company.)  Enjoy!

[Read full article...]

FHA 203(k) - Understanding It's Real Value - Part 2

From Mr. Steve Harney's Keeping Current Matters Blog Posted on March 7, 2010:

How Is the Appraisal Completed?

The appraiser is given a detailed report from either a licensed contractor [for the “Streamline” 203(k)]; or from an FHA 203(k) Consultant [For the “Standard” 203(k)]. This Bid/Report details the scope of work that will be financed into the loan.  The appraiser visits the home and uses the scope of work report as his “rose colored glasses” and appraises the home under a “hypothetical assumption that the work has been completed”.  Thus the home is appraised “As-Repaired” even though the work has not been completed nor is it required to be completed until after the transaction closes and will be completed by the buyer thru his contractor.

Financing at 110% of the “Repaired Value”

Yes, it’s true.  Let’s use yesterday’s example; if the home is sold for $200,000 and the buyer’s acquisition cost is $258,000 including the renovation account.  If the home is appraised “As Repaired” at $235,000, this transaction will close because 110% of $235,000 is $258,500 and the acquisition cost is $258,000 which is less than 110%.  FHA will insure this loan and the transaction will close (some lenders have underwriting overlays and will only fund loans at 100% of the “repaired value”).  The FHA 203(k) can keep transactions together and eliminate the seller from having to make price reductions at the eleventh hour to keep the buyer from walking because the value did not come in.

[Read full article...]

FHA 203(k) - Understanding It's Real Value-Part I

From Mr. Steve Harney's Keeping Current Matters Blog Posted on March 4, 2010

The FHA 203(k) Renovation loan may be the most important, least known, and underutilized government loan that could save the Real Estate market in 2010 and Beyond…

The Perfect Storm

Over 2 million homes were foreclosed in 2009 and more are expected this year.  Property values have declined significantly, and many economists expect property values to continue to decline into 2011.  Many of these homes have not been maintained nor updated and have old or antiquated electrical, plumbing systems, heating, roof, insulation, windows, doors, appliances, etc.  Cash-strapped homeowners losing their homes convert their updated  air conditioners, heaters, cabinets, countertops, doors and appliances into much needed cash by selling them on eBay, Craigslist or at garage sales;  Vacant homes get vandalized for any remaining valuable items like copper wiring, plumbing, light fixtures, and switches. 

According to the Harvard University Joint Center for Housing Studies, 1/3 of all homes nationwide are old, 25 to 45 years old; and another 1/3 of all homes are older, 45+ years old. Our aging housing stock needs to be updated, modernized, and retrofitted to utilize the advances our building industry have made in the last 15 years.  Lack of liquidity in the mortgage market and consolidation of the mortgage originators reduced the amount of funding sources for new mortgages.  Lenders of traditional types of loans including Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and the standard FHA  consider these properties poor collateral and won’t fund loans unless the work has been completed and the home is habitable.

The Dilemma

When Banks acquire these homes through foreclosure, what are their options?  They know that a pristine home with new paint, carpet, appliances and crown moldings will sell fast and for top dollar.  Unfortunately, they don’t have the manpower to manage or the cash to invest the $20,000 to $35,000 to bring an old run down house to modern standards.  There also remains the risk of starting a rehab project only to uncover some larger more expensive issues that could compound the banks losses, not to mention the potential for additional vandalism once the work is completed.  First time and move up buyers are getting forced out of the market because these properties will not qualify for traditional financing due to the condition of the home.  This brings in cash-buyers who want a deep discount on the property, thus driving the prices down further.

The Solution

The FHA 203(k) Renovation loan, available as a purchase or refinance, established in 1978 by the US Congress to revitalize our nation’s housing stock was ahead of its time by about 30 years.  The authors of this loan program must have seen this housing market coming.  The 203(k) allows an owner occupant home buyer to purchase a home in need of repair and get funding not only to purchase it but also to fix it up in one loan.  It allows the seller to sell and close a home “As-Is” no matter how bad the condition is.  A home could be condemned, it could have a cracked slab or damaged foundation, code violations, fire damaged, leaking roof, or no kitchen.   The buyer can close it “As-Is” and include funds to fix up the home in one loan.

A Real World Example

A buyer finds a home in the right neighborhood, on a good street, but it is old and was vandalized.  The home is listed for $200,000 and needs a new electrical system, plumbing, heating, kitchen and bathroom remodel, paint inside and out, refinish the wood floors and carpet in the bedrooms.  The total repair cost is $50,000

Purchase Price: $200,000

Renovation Account: $58,000  (Includes 10% contingency reserve, Inspections and other soft costs)

Total Acquisition Cost: $258,000

Base Loan Amount: $248,970  (Buyer must qualify for a loan at 96.5% LTV)

Down Payment: $9,030  (Minimum down payment is 3.5%)

The buyer gets to make a wish list   Once the property is inspected and any deficiencies and FHA required improvements are identified, the buyer gets to make a wish list of the home improvements they want to do to their home.  Dual pane windows, new entry door, interior doors, new paint, carpet, cabinets, countertops, appliances, add a second floor, a master bedroom, a bonus room, finish a basement, add units, upgrade the electrical, plumbing or HVAC systems; landscaping walkways, decks… its almost endless the types of improvements you can do…

Source:  http://kcmblog.com/2010/03/04/3250/

 

Review of Regional Market Conditions & Trends

The presentation in the link below comes from Mr. Barry Merchant from VHDA who spoke to the Charlottesville Area Association of Realtors today.  Mr. Merchant reports:

  • The Charlottesville area market is likely to remain weak in 2010 and into 2011.
  • Home sales, while rising, are likely to remain below the pre-boom levels of the first half of this decade.
  • Prices will remain depressed until inventories are further reduced and the foreclosure rate declines.
  • The ongoing severity of loan defaults will depend on how much further unemployment rises, how long before jobs growth returns and the magnitude of further price declines. 

To view the presentation:
http://share.caar.com/Market%20Reports/Barry%20Merchant%2004Feb10%20Presentation.ppt

 

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140 AUTUMN OAKS LN Barboursville (greene) Home for Sale - Kevin Holt Real Estate

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"Monday Morning Coffee"--A Look At Last Week's Market Activity

Market Activity For Week: 
12/21/2009-12/27/2009
(Detached, Resale Homes)

  

Currently For Sale & New Listings Added
Last Week

  Total # of Listings Currently Active Average Days on Market of Total # of New Listings Added Last Week Median Price of New Listings
Albemarle 519 208 06 $374,450
Charlottesville 179 285 0 $0
Fluvanna 229 172 02 $207,400
Greene 141 175 02 $1,479,000
Louisa 180 170 0 $0
Totals & Averages 1248 202 10 N/A

 

Went Under Contract Last Week
  Listings   Average Days
on Market
  Median Price
Albemarle 08 186 $454,500
Charlottesville 0 0 $0
Fluvanna 0 0 $0
Greene 01 196 $169,900
Louisa 01 22 $92,000
Totals & Averages* 10 135 $238,800
       

 

Sold Last Week
  Listings Sold Avg. Days on Market Median Price % of Sales Price to List Price
Albemarle 03 33 $1,015,000 99%
Charlottesville 0 0 $0 0%
Fluvanna 0 0 $0 0%
Greene 0 0 $0 0%
Louisa 0 0 $0 0%
Totals & Averages* 3 N/A N/A

N/A

 All information deemed reliable but not guaranteed.
Areas with zero weekly activity not included in totals & averages.

Until Next Monday...Be Well & Enjoy Life

"Monday Morning Coffee"--A Look At Last Week's Market Activity

Market Activity For Week: 
12/14/2009-12/20/2009
(Detached, Resale Homes)

  

Currently For Sale & New Listings Added
Last Week

  Total # of Listings Currently Active Average Days on Market of Total # of New Listings Added Last Week Median Price of New Listings
Albemarle 530 206 06 $301,335
Charlottesville 180 200 06 $324,950
Fluvanna 234 166 05 $194,900
Greene 144 171 02 $299,450
Louisa 184 162 04 $366,450
Totals & Averages 1272 181 23 $297,417

 

Went Under Contract Last Week
  Listings   Average Days
on Market
  Median Price
Albemarle 03 143 $329,725
Charlottesville 03 147 $154,900
Fluvanna 04 120 $224,950
Greene 01 65 $119,900
Louisa 01 46 $189,900
Totals & Averages* 12 104 $203,875
       

 

Sold Last Week
  Listings Sold Avg. Days on Market Median Price % of Sales Price to List Price
Albemarle 07 161 $400,000 97%
Charlottesville 05 93 $370,000 90%
Fluvanna 02 24 $246,850 90%
Greene 01 07 $237,500 108%
Louisa 02 117 $192,500 96%
Totals & Averages* 17 80 $289,370

96%

 All information deemed reliable but not guaranteed.
Areas with zero weekly activity not included in totals & averages.

Until Next Monday...Be Well & Enjoy Life

Contact Information

Photo of Kevin Holt Real Estate
Kevin Holt
ERA Bill May Realty Company
249 Zan Road
Charlottesville VA 22901
Office: (434) 978-7355
Phone: (434) 409-2268
Fax: (434) 973-0122

©2008 ERA Franchise Systems LLC. All Right Reserved. ERA® and Always There For You® are registered trademarks licensed to ERA Franchise Systems LLC. An Equal Opportunity Company. Equal Housing Opportunity. Each Office is Independently Owned and Operated.  All information deemed reliable but not guaranteed. All properties are subject to prior sale, change or withdrawal. Neither listing broker(s) or information provider(s) shall be responsible for any typographical errors, misinformation, misprints and shall be held totally harmless.